top of page

SHAVING CRISIS


How I missed this site, its been 4 months...waaaaat how time flies. I do write, just not in this platform more often. & of course I have been extremely busy, but I have never forgotten the small stuff that made me, such are like this site. Am coming up with a Vlog soon, those who are dying to see my face, & hear my voice traaaaaaah that is on the way.I am sick, yea, as in unwell. Staring at the screen of the laptop & feeling like crap,thou, I have plenty to share cause its been 4 months,promise I wont bore you, so buckle up lovelies.

I always have those random thought and some of them makes me just laugh at my self. I was talking to my pal just a few minutes & she was telling me how she shaved her armpit yester night & she is itching all over cause she forgot to apply after shave cream. & that's when I remembered my first shave..yea, my random thoughts. So anyway this is the story of how my armpits lost its virginity.I was still in high school, 402, and it wasn’t like I had any hair worth shaving on my armpit anyway, but I would see my dorm mum & other girls doing it all the time so I decided to try it. So, there I was home by myself, of course I did this while I was home ALONE,afraid of what my mom might say.And on holidays,yea the pressure is real when you went to a boarding school.

I was in the bath room and I had bought myself a bic razor, brand new as curious as I am I jumped at the opportunity. “How hard could shaving be” I thought, all they do is run the razor up and down their armpits. Well I began to shave, sitting there (We always have stool in the bathroom, those days,don't ask y) trying to remember how they did it. I knew they put something that looked like soap on their armpits, so I lathered up my armpits, propped one at a time on the stool. (We didn't have bathtub so don't worry on my positions)

Up & down that's what I was busy doing, as I gently guided the razor up my armpit. A few minutes later I was done, and I felt how smooth my armpits were and I was so excited! I was sitting there on the stool,thinking how proud I was that I shaved all myself, but who would have known what was to come. My aunt used to put soda powder, sodium bicarbonate (for those who are more advanced), magadi, for those who love traditional veggies. So that you won't smell sweat, according to her. And if you grew up like me, such products in the kitchen were always valuable, so I pinched just a handful so that my mum won't notice.....

OMG my damn armpits were stinging!!!!!! I got up asap, ran to the bathroom.Took the jerry can, & ran to fetch water.Yea fetch we did have shower, but those days there was water rationing in Nairobi & specific where we used to stay, so we had to store water.Cause I was extremely itching, I splashed cold water on them as I stood placing the jerry can on the stool, but it didn't help. I was like why the hell would women put themselves through this if this is the aftermath. I held my towel to my shoulder and then searched for something to help with the sting, bells went off in my head when I saw Vaseline, I swear I finished the whole jelly.

I left the bathroom went to look at the aftermath on the mirror,What I saw.......Holy!!I just stood there with my hands in the air, as if I was in a concert. My cousin walks in (Don't ask how many people lived in that house) on me, & she starts laughing, but thank God she was older than me,& much experienced. She gave me tips, that some I use to date.

It wasn’t funny at the time of course but now looking back on it, it is absolutely hilarious. Funny thing is when we grow up and mature into women we try so many different things to get smoother armpits,legs,bikini line etc..from shaving, to Nair, to waxing, to smooth away and so on… I myself have tried them all and I have just decided to stick to shaving… waxing stings, Nair stinks, smooth away isn’t what they make it seem and shaving is just more convenient.

The funny thing is after all this years Vaseline has always been that remedy for me after shaving. These are the few things that don't go out of fashion. I also use a new product by Tony Airo the best even if you shave your whole body. Shaving, who would have thought that something so simple yet important to women has become so complicated when it comes to regarding the different razors, gels, creams, etc? The things we as women do…

My experience was horrid, but thank God, for social media, & good friends who tells me new techniques everytime...Hope yours was at least.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
bottom of page